MLU FORUM  

Go Back   MLU FORUM > MILITARY VEHICLES > Post-war Military Vehicles

Notices

Old 12-06-06, 18:13
Dave Good

Default Importing Armor?

I would like to get a FOX FV721 ARMORED CAR and I am looking into importing one from the UK and here is my question.Can you? I am geting the yes you can to no you can't answers.Has any one here imported any type of armored vehicle into Canada recently.If you can,what steps would I have to do as I have never done this before.
Old 13-06-06, 02:51

Dave,
I bought an already plated Ferret here in Montreal, and had 1000 questions fired at me when I did the ownership tranfer. I plated it as a collector vehicle. There are folks in Canada that have armour, like scorpions and scimitars etc. But weather you could import "armour", you'd have to rephrase the vehicle description to Transport Canada and /or Canada Customs. Something to the tune of a "military skidder" or "three person truck". You'll never do it by calling it a "combat reconnaisance vehicle" or "Tank". I have some friends in Customs, I'll ask around. My advise is to try and find something here. It's a burocratic mess!
Old 13-06-06, 04:36
Dave Good

I seen in our local paper a year or two ago that some person north of here in Fort McMurray had brought in a mark 10 Chieftan tank but I don't know what he had to go through to bring it in.The regulations might have changed since then.

Dave
Old 13-06-06, 05:31
In Vino Veritas

Default Chieftan

The Brits maintain an armour base at Wainright , at least in the past. I believe the FOrt Mcmurray one was surplus from them, out of Edmonton. You can always find Unimogs and landrovers and other European stuff for sale in Edmonton because they train nearby.
Sean
M38CDN 1952
Other stuff
Old 13-06-06, 08:04
Dave Good

I don't believe it was a local one as I recall in the artical that it cost him around $35,000 to ship it in from where he purchased it from.
Old 13-06-06, 19:05
In Vino Veritas

Default There you go...