MLU FORUM  

Go Back   MLU FORUM > MILITARY VEHICLES > The Softskin Forum

Notices

Old 08-11-10, 22:01

Default Jeep Question

The attached picture comes from a book entitled "Britain at war - unseen archives" a collection of Daily Mail photos from the Home Front. It is amongst others concerning the first US troops to arrive in the UK.
The Jeep carries a "CD" plate and british civilian registration - could it belong to an Ammerican "mission" prior to their entry into the war?
I'm not very good at "Jeep Spotting" is it an unusual version? There seems to be some sort of bracket near the passenger side headlight?
Over to you
Noel
Attached Images

Old 08-11-10, 22:16
Rick Cove

Thats a very early Jeep. The bracket you see is actually the right mudguard/fender from a strange angle.
Rick.
1940 F30S Cab11
1940 Chev WA LRDG "Te Hai"
1941 F60L Cab12
1943 Ford Lynx
1942 Bren Gun Carrier VR no.2250
Humber FV1601A
Saracen Mk1(?)
25pdr. 1940 Weir No.266
25pdr. Australian Short No.185 (?)
KVE Member.
Old 08-11-10, 22:35

It's quite obvious now that you mention it, thanks
Noel
Old 09-11-10, 00:14
former Resident Historian

Default Thoughts

The rego is a wartime London County Council one that started in spring 1941 from what i can gather, though that number may have been issued in summer 1943. Note the white front bumper.

The location reminds me of Hyde Park...I think Park Lane was dual carriageway then. The US Embassy and military HQ was at 1 Grosvenor Gardens which was a short distance to the east of where the Jeep was if I am correct.

The bus is I think a roofbox STL on route 25A, heading for Forest Gate Garage but may be wrong!