MLU FORUM  

Go Back   MLU FORUM > GENERAL WW2 TOPICS > WW2 Military History & Equipment

Notices

Old 11-08-12, 19:07

Default Some good finds this week

So I was wandering around New York and Ontario this week and came across the following bits 'n pieces.
I'm new to collecting so I'm not positive about my I.Ds so if anyone can help me out it is appreciated if I've got them wrong. Also if anyone can date the stuff for me even better.

Sean

I found this in an Ontario bargain store. I believe it's a Canadian Gas Mask Carrier 1943. Mint condition for $10.00

Same store in Ontario an M1 US Helmet Pot with fixed bales. Stamped 723A, well used and abused for $25.00

In Jamestown NY I found this US Civil Defence helmet for $20.00. Missing most of the decal, but the liner is in excellent condition and has some history with the label inside added.

Frome the same store in NY. I believe this is either a US Marine Garrison Cap dated May 9th, 1941 by Rite Style Model Cap Co. or a US Civillian Forestry Corps cap. I'm now leaning towards Forestry Corps. It's made from wool and is a Forest Green colour. $4.00

Lastly a US Engineers Garrison Cap found in the same store. No label except for what you see in the photo. Has a small moth hole. $4.00

I'm looking forward to next week....

Last edited by Sean Dunnage; 11-08-12 at 19:34.
Old 12-08-12, 13:04

Default Sad story

One sad story from my trips this week is finding a M1 US Helmet with an early westinghouse liner in the Ontario store that a kid was buying just before I got to check it out. I learned this listening to the clerk who had researched it a bit. The lid was $70.00 and in amazing condition. I overheard the young lad saying he was going to strip it down, paint it and use it for paint ball.... I nearly cried right there. When I told him that he had a piece of history in his hands and should leave it be he simply said who cares about that shit.

Sad world when some youth just doesn't care about the past.

Sean