MLU FORUM  

Go Back   MLU FORUM > MILITARY VEHICLES > The Armour Forum

Notices

Old 21-10-12, 05:20

Default Looking for info on the Belgian T15

Hello I am new to this part of the forum, I spend most of my time on the carrier page. I have a few carriers and one of them (a T16) is pretty much stripped to the chassis, I was thinking of making a Tank out of it and the Belgian T15 fits the size and road wheel layout pretty well.

The T15 was a version of the British "Commercial Light Tank Vickers Carden-Loyd 4 ton" (designated T15 by the Belgians). They had a two-man crew and were armed with a 13.2 mm French Hotchkiss machine gun mounted in the turret. A total of 42 of these tanks were delivered and assigned to Belgian units before the German invasion.

I have lots of pictures of the Germans using them after the Belgians fell and a few are in museums but none near me. I am looking for anyone with interior photos showing how they were driven, ie: steering wheel or tiller bars and what the seats looked like.

Any help would be great.
Attached Thumbnails
5470508.jpg  
Old 21-10-12, 19:55
MLU Administrator

Hello Jon,

Excellent idea for a T16 "bathtub". My choice would be to replicate the Model 1936 "Dutchman", as built for and used by the Netherlands East Indies Army. These saw combat in 1941 and some of them were later captured and put to use by the Japanese Army.

Apart from being a personal choice, I think this type of turret would be easier to replicate as it is made of flat plate. Also I would use the cletrack steering of the T16, as far as I know the Vickers had the same with tiller steering. The steering wheel with track warping system was typical for the Universal Carriers.

Search for Vickers Dutchman on this forum to find more information on these interesting little tanks.

HTH,
Hanno

Old 22-10-12, 01:53

Default Good idea

Thanks Hanno