MLU FORUM  

Go Back   MLU FORUM > 'B' ECHELON > The Sergeants' Mess

Notices

Old 14-03-03, 17:47
former OC MLU, AKA 'Jif' - sadly no longer with us

Default Personal Printers

Recommendations, gentlemen? My old HP 1200C has finally croaked and it's time to find a replacement. It's NOT used for business, just casually, but I WOULD like to have the capability to print on various mediums (for business cards, overhead transparencies etc). It'll be hung off one of the PCs upstairs, with network access to all through print-sharing and my Linksys router. The drivers HAVE to be available for both Windows 98 SE and XP Pro.

What gives me the most bang for the buck?
Old 14-03-03, 19:10

Default HP 1220 Cxi

I've replied to your request on another means, but I have been using a HP 1220Cxi printer for a couple of years using ME and XP Home. I am very happy with its' capabilities and have had no problems so far. It will handle HP transparency sheets, although I have not tried them. I am quite happy with the 11 x 17 work that it has produced for me.

GW
Old 14-03-03, 19:19
former OC MLU, AKA 'Jif' - sadly no longer with us

Default Hi George!

Thanks, I noticed your reply elsewhere as well...

Appreciate you dropping by here; my old N54 forum, operational over four years, proved to be popular yet unreliable. I bought this software and put it online scarcely a month ago, and find it even more efficient than that "other" place!

Happy to have you here, and I hope as time goes on and our topics flesh out that you'll find our community equally as interesting; certainly, we're equally as international, yet much more focussed and much less confrontational.

Cheers,

Geoff
Old 14-03-03, 19:31

Default Good format

I find your format on this forum excellent. I really like the ability to read down the whole thread, rather than scrolling up and down, especially on those long posts.