MLU FORUM  

Go Back   MLU FORUM > MILITARY VEHICLES > The Softskin Forum

Notices

Old 21-08-12, 14:26

Default Transport issue

G'day to all,
I'm new at this guys and although I'm not a CMP owner I can relate to them being grand old units. Hopefully this will smooth things over when I tell you that I am actually more of a CCKW fan....hahaha! Actually of course I'm a fan of anything from that era military vehicles wise. A little back ground on me. I have had some military service having served with 31RQR here in Townsville. My enthusiasm for the old military trucks comes from my earliest memory of my Dad being a driver in the same unit. He used to regularly sneak home between trips in the US6 and give me a look over it. This was back in the late 60's. My old granddad had both types of make of Blitz on our farm up here in Queensland. They were just old farm hacks but they really held the place together and just never said die. We also had a 38 model ex-army chevy ambo. So you see my exposure to these vehicles has been healthy. This has lead me to the current situation I now find myself in. That being that i am now looking to buy my own unit. I know I could be in the wrong group when I say that i am very keen to get my hands on a CCKW but I'm wondering if any of you guys can assist with a lead to one. I do have my eye on one but it is interstate and and while the purchase price is affordable the carriage is crippling. I would appreciate any help you can offer either unit closer to me here in Townsville or a cost effective way to transport one from NSW to Townsville NQ. I'll leave it there and sign off now with thanks in advance for any help you can offer and wish to thank you guys for having me in the group.
Cheers,
Phillip
Old 21-08-12, 19:44
Terry Warner

Welcome!

There is no vaccination for the Green Disease.