MLU FORUM

MLU FORUM (http://www.mapleleafup.net/forums/index.php)
-   The Carrier Forum (http://www.mapleleafup.net/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=6)
-   -   track drive sprockets (http://www.mapleleafup.net/forums/showthread.php?t=33501)

Richard Salter 22-06-22 21:04

track drive sprockets

dose any one know what the wear tolerance on the drive and rear idler sprockets, we have striped the track of and the links have been hitting the drums and worn quite badly I have thought of welding a ring around the drum wear the links rest and replacing the sprockets but if i do that I will have to replace the whole lot. so would like to know the wear tolerances. Hope this makes sense :confused
Thanks Richard :)

Tom Millward 22-06-22 22:08

I’m not a Carrier expert but wear is normally indicated by hooking of the sprockets as they tend to wear on the drive face. Are yours hooked?

Have you got a new sprocket that you can compare them to?

Richard Salter 22-06-22 22:27

Hi, no they are not hook but I wondered about the space between the teeth seems deeper/wider but not hooked, and no I don't have a spare one to compare.

Tom Millward 22-06-22 23:44

It might help to post a picture, if you have one, to see where the wear is taking place (both the track and the drive sprocket).

Lynn Eades 23-06-22 00:23

I cant remember for sure but I think the test is done with a section of 1 7/16" dia. round bar. If it hits the bottom (between the teeth) then your sprocket is worn out. Count the track links on each side and tell us what you have? I have edited to the correct bar dia.

kevin powles 23-06-22 08:17

Richard, If you post a picture of your problem, I might have some spare usable sprockets here.

RichardT10829 23-06-22 17:05

There are NOS sprockets out there, Kev had a number of very tasty ones for sale not so long ago. I have the metallurgy / hardness data and CAD for sprockets but as there is still (to some extent) a supply of original items, I haven’t furthered that project.